Matheron Lecturer

This lecture series in honor of  Georges Matheron, a  leader in the field of geostatistics, was initiated in 2005, and the first lecture was given in 2006 at the IAMG Annual Meeting in Liège, Belgium.

The Lectures Committee is chaired by a Vice President, who selects two (2) other members of the Association familiar with the work of Georges Matheron to serve on the committee in accordance with By-Law 7. The Lectures Committee seeks nominations and selects each year a Georges Matheron Lecturer who is a scientist with proven research ability in the field of spatial statistics or mathematical morphology. The Director of the École des Mines Centre de Géostatistiques in Fontainebleau (France) serves as non-voting member ex officio. Members of the Georges Matheron Lecturer Committee are ineligible to be selected as Georges Matheron Lecturer while serving on the committee.

Letters of nomination should include a curriculum vitae of the nominee and a short statement summarizing the ways in which he or she fulfills the nomination criteria.

Letters should be directed to the Chair of the Lectures Committee by e-mail to:

or by regular mail to :

Christien Thiart
Department of Statistical Sciences University of Cape Town
Private Bag Rondebogch 7700
South Africa


Lecturers and Topics:

2023 Xavier Emery (Advanced Mining Technology Center (AMTC), Universidad de Chile)
A journey into covariance models for spatial data

2020 Marc G. Genton (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST) in Saudi Arabia)
From Matheron’s Theory of Regionalized Variables to Exascale Geostatistics

2019 Vera Pawlowsky-Glahn

2018 Christian Lantuéjoul

2017 Noel Cressie

2016 Jeffrey Yarus

2015 Roussos Dimitrakopoulos (McGill University, Montreal, Canada)

2014 Karl Gerald van den Boogaart (TU Bergakademie Freiberg, Germany)
Multiple Point Statistics understood in Matheronian Principles

2013 Peter A. Dowd (University of Adelaide, Australia)
“Quantifying uncertainty for mineral and energy resource exploitation—sources, randomness, scale and structure”

2012 Jean-Paul Chilès (École National Supérieure des Mines de Paris, Fontainebleau)
Is There Still Room for New Developments in Geostatistics?

2011 B. S. Daya Sagar (Indian Statistical Institute, Bangalore):
Mathematical Morphology in Geomorphology  and GISci

2010 Donald A. Singer (United States Geological Survey) :
Solving the wrong resource assessment and exploration problems precisely

2009 Jean-Laurent Mallet (École Nationale Superieure de Géologie, Nancy Université, France):
GeoChron: A Mathematical framework for sedimentary geology

2008 Adrian Baddeley (Univ. of Western Australia):
Special point process models on exploration geology

2007 Wynand Kleingeld (De Beers, South Africa):
Narrating on a journey to solve a sampling problem

2006 Jean Serra (École des Mines, France):
Random set modelling